Please dont hammer me...Basic Newbie question...hopefully

MAME Gurus come to your aide to help you. Please use the search before adding a topic. This will help cut down on having multiple topics with the same subject.
matt68061

Please dont hammer me...Basic Newbie question...hopefully

Post by matt68061 » November 27th, 2008, 11:29 pm

Hello all. Basically a newbie here. I purchased a MAME arcade machine from a friend who moved away several years ago (three at least). Worked great for years and now as I start the machine (computer turns on directly to front end) I get an error message that says "ERROR LOGS DIRECTORY NOT FOUND"... I am not totally computer illiterate but far from an expert. I have tried to search all the forums for similar issues but can not seem to find anything out. Hopefull this is so simple that it just never comes out.

I am not totally sure of which version I have but I can tell you it is running on Windows 98.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks

Incito
Founder
Founder
Favorite Game: Marvel vs. Capcom 2

Re: Please dont hammer me...Basic Newbie question...hopefully

Post by Incito » December 1st, 2008, 11:47 am

Exit out of the frontend (should be Esc key unless he changed it) and find out what version of mame you are running. This will help us better. Also, tell me your OS the computer has (XP, OSX, Vista).

We don't hammer noobs here ;)
I was a noob once :o

matt68061

Post by matt68061 » December 1st, 2008, 5:46 pm

thanks!....Windows 98. MAME v.65

again, turn on computer...see the opening MAME page...it "thinks" for about 90 seconds and I get the error message "could not create "logs" directory"....I then try to manually run the launcher from the start menu (Glaunch, by the way)...it thinks for another minute and I get the same error message.

to make matters a little more confusing, my wireless keyboard is not being read. and yes...I have checked the batteries and usb connections.