Page 1 of 1

A little help please . :)

Posted: September 26th, 2008, 8:17 am
by joeybsmooth
Hello form.

Have MAME 32 and for the life of me I can not get th sames to run after I download them . I am not sure what I am doing wrong . I have been reading the other post here and I still have not found the issue. They are ziped and I aduited all games. and they are still not showing up.

Re: A little help please . :)

Posted: September 26th, 2008, 9:21 am
by suits00
hello Joeybsmooth, and welcome to the forums

Ok am gonna need you to run through this checklist.

1. Can you post a screen shot of your roms folder (as Chris pointed out in an earlier post, Mame is very particular about the names of roms). Your roms can't be fully named, for example street fighter III: Third Strike must be named sfiii3 for mame to find it.

2. Did you press the available tab (Left side of the mame32gui)?

3. Have you placed the roms in the default roms folder? If you have them in a different folder, have you set your directories? (Go to Options> Directories> Browse for your roms folder)

4. What games are you trying to run? (Some games may not work)

5. Do you get any errors during the audit? (Sometimes older versions of games do not work with newer versions of mame because they are read as incomplete or wrong)

Re: A little help please . :)

Posted: September 26th, 2008, 10:58 am
by joeybsmooth
Thanks for the welcome.


1. What program do I need to get a screen shoot of my computer

2. Yes :mrgreen:

3. Yes

4. Street Fighter , Street Fighter 3

5. Nope audit worked.

I was up all night trying to get this to work . I wonder what I am doing wrong I am so ready to kick some but with Sean. lol

Re: A little help please . :)

Posted: September 26th, 2008, 11:34 am
by suits00
joeybsmooth wrote:Thanks for the welcome.


1. What program do I need to get a screen shoot of my computer

2. Yes :mrgreen:

3. Yes

4. Street Fighter , Street Fighter 3

5. Nope audit worked.

I was up all night trying to get this to work . I wonder what I am doing wrong I am so ready to kick some but with Sean. lol
1. You can take a pic of your computer screen by pressing Prt Scrn Button. Its right above the Insert Home PageUp button on your keyboard. After that, you can go to paint and paste that image then save it. Then you can upload it to a free image hosting site like imageshack.

2. ok 3. ok

4. Are street fighter 3s, the only games your trying to run. For street fighter 3s (like third strike and such). Your gonna need 3 things, or 2 if you wanna wait 20-70mins on first boot. 1. You need the sfiii3 rom 2. you need the chd file called 33s000 placed in a folder called sfiii3, inside the roms folder 3. (If you dont want to wait) You need bios for no cd version. If you dont have the chd file the game wont show up. If you have the game named something other than sfiii3(third strike) sfiii2(w impact) or sfiii(new generation) the game wont show up on the list.

5. Can you explain more, does this mean the game passed but just isnt showing up on the available list. Try auditing the individual games (not all) on the full games list. Meaning, find your game> then right click it> then click Audit> tell me what it says there next to Rom Check: and under Details.

If sf3s are the only games your trying to run, then 4. should take care of the problem.

Re: A little help please . :)

Posted: September 26th, 2008, 12:43 pm
by joeybsmooth
Image

I have tried to use other game and they are not working, also when I tried to audit the game it would say roms not found . I can not believe that this is giving me so much trouble lol.

Re: A little help please . :)

Posted: September 26th, 2008, 1:44 pm
by suits00
ok by looking at that I can already see one thing. Your sf3 files are way to big. This can mean one of two things, the winrar file is holding the sfiii3 rom itself and the chd file inside. Try double clicking the streetfighter 3 winrar file. Tell me is there a file called sfiii3 and folder called sfiii3 or a chd file called 33s000. If there is a winrar file called sfiii3 and a folder called sfiii3 then just extract the contents to your roms folder. If you see a winrar file called sfiii3 and a file called 33s000 then you still extract them but the 33s000 file need to go in its own folder inside the roms folder, call the folder sfiii3. If you dont see those things inside the streetfighter_3 winrar file or the sfiii3 winrar file, then you need to delete both and I will walk you through the rest.


Now when you audited and it said game not found, did you do that for only sf3 or for streetfighter the movie and street fighter too? If you audited for all 3 did they all say not found? If so then go and double check your directories. Go to Options> Directories> Select roms and browse to where you keep your roms> Click ok and it should automatically audit.

Here is a pic of the files am talking about for sf3s, they might be inside one of those sfiii3/streetfighter3 winrar files you have there. One is the 64mb sfiii3 rom, one is the folder with the 33s000 chd file inside it, and last are the bios for the no cd version.
Image