Board index MAME Help Open in different versions from Mala?

Open in different versions from Mala?

MAME Gurus come to your aide to help you. Please use the search before adding a topic. This will help cut down on having multiple topics with the same subject.
Post December 6th, 2016, 11:39 pm
flcl64 User avatar
Gamer Extreme
Gamer Extreme

Posts: 34

I know there's a way to change emulators by button press, but I'm wondering if when I select a rom, I can make it open in a preset emulator.

Post December 8th, 2016, 1:49 am
flcl64 User avatar
Gamer Extreme
Gamer Extreme

Posts: 34

I found a forum talking about it, the solution was a command prompt that you direct Mala to instead of a mame.exe.
I'm kinda illiterate when it comes to code like that. Any tips?

If I write out my folder tree, could someone help me translate it? I was fiddling around with it and I think I'm about 25% there but I'm missing some vital understanding. :wacko:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=68419.0

Post December 8th, 2016, 11:03 am
Incito User avatar
Founder
Founder

Posts: 2008
Location: Metro City

Start by adding what code you have using the "code" button. Like this

your code goes inside here

Post December 8th, 2016, 3:08 pm
flcl64 User avatar
Gamer Extreme
Gamer Extreme

Posts: 34

if "%2" == "C:\\other games\MAME Arcade\MAME Plus! XT\popeye" goto popeye
if "%2" == "C:\\other games\MAME Arcade\MAME Plus! XT\roms" goto mame

mame.exe %1
exit

:popeye
cd ..\popeye
closemul.exe mame.exe %2
exit

:mame
cd ..\roms
closemul.exe mamepuiXT_x86.exe %2
exit


This was after some fiddling around with different things, all games still open in the same emulator, but Popeye is in a different folder than the rest of the roms.

Post December 9th, 2016, 7:11 am
flcl64 User avatar
Gamer Extreme
Gamer Extreme

Posts: 34

I've got it now where I can control which emulator games start in with Popeye in it's own folder, but they still only open in one.
if "%2" == "C:\\other games\MAME Arcade\MAME Plus! XT" goto mame
if "%2" == "C:\\other games\MAME Arcade\popeye" goto popeye

mame.exe %1
exit

:popeye
cd ..\\other games\MAME Arcade\popeye
closemul.exe mame.exe %2
exit

:mame
cd ..\\other games\MAME Arcade\MAME Plus! XT
closemul.exe mamepuiXT_x86.exe %2
exit


this is the line that decides which emulator all games use
mame.exe %1
exit


I also moved a few things back one folder, but that doesn't seem to matter as the CMD will only work in the folder with the EXE in it.

Post December 10th, 2016, 7:19 pm
flcl64 User avatar
Gamer Extreme
Gamer Extreme

Posts: 34

I read through the post again, am I missing a batch file?


Return to MAME Help

Google+